Currently Watching: May 2019 Edition

Currently Watching: May Edition

 

My drama watching has gone down significantly this past year.  I like to think it is because I have become more balanced in my drama consumption and not that there have been less interesting dramas lately.  Although, it could be a mix of both honestly.  

 

The show I am enjoying the most right now is Her Private Life. 

 

***Image**

 

It has Park Min Young, who I love in everything and Kim Jae Wook.  I don’t really think PMY needs an introduction because she has been in loads of dramas, most recently was What’s Wrong With Secretary Kim?  Kim Jae Wook, I did need to be reminded of.  He was most recently in Temperature of Love, where he played an irritating second lead.  But I like to think of him as the cute waffle guy in Coffee Prince. 

 

***Coffee prince image if possible?

 

The drama is a pretty standard romcom, with all the usual tropes.  But it is cute and funny.  It does seem to be hinting at a childhood connection, which is kind of a motif in PMY’s dramas.   At this point, I almost expect it from her.  I don’t think anyone here needs me to explain what the drama is about, but would rather I spend my time telling you if it is worth your time.  To which I say, if you like romcoms and don’t mind fluffiness, then yes.  Now is an especially good time to watch it because you can binge it and then watch the last few episodes with the rest of us.  It is always best to try and watch at least the finales while they are currently airing because then it is easier to find people to enjoy it with you.  

 

I am also watching He is Psychometric with Park Jin Young (of Got7 fame) and Shin Ye Eun. I have actually never seen any of the main characters in any dramas previously, so I was kind of going in blind.  A lot of people have really liked the show though, so I wanted to give it a try.   I do think that the Hyung Kim Kwon looks eerily similar to Lee Jong Suk (especially from the drama While You Were Sleeping where he was playing a Prosecutor as well.) I actually like this drama better overall than Her Private Life…but I have low key put on hold. Why would I do that when I liked it so much at first?  Well…it is kind of silly.  

 

Something saddening happened in episode 9ish? And okay, I am not a fan of sadness, but I was going to keep watching…but then we had that scene that is in so many dramas.  The I’m crying and walking in the rain scene.  Which also has never bothered me before.  But something was really weirdly different in this one, and I just haven’t really been able to wrap my head around it.  Every person that passed him on the street had an either yellow or red umbrella.  Every. Single. One.  Like, but why???? Has that always been the case and I have just never noticed?  Is it a new fad? Is there some kind of motif that I am somehow not understanding?  Please feel free to advise me on this.  Should I just stop overthinking it and get on with the show? Or do you think it is weird too? 

 

Lastly, I just finished Touch Your Heart with Lee Dong Wook and Yoo In Na.  I don’t really think those two need introductions, but in case you have been living in a cave or maybe just entered the drama world, they were recently in the globally acclaimed drama Goblin.  I admit, that is the only reason I wanted to watch this show.  It was kind of a typical romcom, but with significantly less plot interest (for me at least).  There was the usual case of the week thing and then in like the last four episodes the show tried to make something that was smaller earlier into something way bigger, which kind of annoyed me.  Also, the nice part of the romance was how they were just very simple and communicated pretty well.  And again in the last four episodes, The Show seemed to want to cause some unnecessary drama.  Which is why I only gave it 5 out of 10 stars.  It wasn’t the worst drama I have ever seen…but neither would I ever want to rewatch it or even recommend it.  There are just so many better options out there.  Want to see those two in a drama? Watch Goblin, their chemistry was even better in that one.   Want to watch a lawyer filled drama? Try While You Were Sleeping or The Sound of Your Voice.  Both of those have the adorable Lee Jong Suk to lure you in.  Want a romcom? Try Strong Woman Do Bong Soon or Another Miss Oh.  Both of those are funny and fluffy and all that is good about romcoms. 

 

So yeah, that is what I have been watching lately.  Not much, but like I said, I have been working on being more balanced.  I have actually been reading more lately, but more on that in another post. 

 

Leave a comment