Kimchi Characters

Kimchi Characters

So I made this post on mydramalist: Top Ten Kimchi Couples and I really like the concept. The long and short of it is this, Korean dramas, much like Korean food, has great side dishes/characters.

null

My favorite are the Kimchi Characters. As @devonandcornwall mentioned in her post, kimchi is a bit of an acquired taste.

null

At first you might think,

null

This is gross, why do so many people like it this much? But then you fall deeper in love with all things Korean, so you try it again.

null

Hmmm…maybe this isn’t so bad. And before you know it, you are adding it to all of your ramen every time.

null

The Kimchi Characters are just like that. When you first join the dramaverse, you think, What is up with all these wacky side characters? null I just want to see the OTP! And as you fall deeper into the rabbit hole, you find yourself thinking, nullOh hey! I know her, she was that wacky character in that one drama. And next thing you know, you are watching some borderline horrible dramas just because the Kimchi Characters are so awesome. (I haven’t seen it yet, but I am thinking High Society falls into this category.)

So just to clarify, I am not talking about the complete show stealers, like the Grim Reaper or the second lead couple in Descendants of the Sun.

nullnull

I am talking about that girl who played the best friend in both Cinderella and Four Knights and in Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo.

null

null

So who is your all time favorite Kimchi Character and/or actor who gets cast as the Kimchi Character all the time? To clarify, if you are going to nominate an actor, make sure it is one that hasn’t since made it into a lead role. I.E: Park Hyung Shik, as seen in High Society and The Heirs. He has since been second lead in Hwarang and FIRST LEAD/BEST BOYFRIEND EVER in Strong Woman Do Bong Soon. Speaking of which…have you seen that show yet? It is hilarious and adorable. Look at these faces:

null

null

null

I did another poll thingy, but that didn’t really work the best last time, so make sure you post your vote below so I can update the poll! Thanks!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1UO2J4Fv6w01p9Z6xoDsMkoQEofCdwHrQEcQFVCD58ZQ/edit

2 Comments Add yours

  1. priyamh21 says:

    She was also in Because it’s the first time. I liked that drama too just 8 epi. Yeah, I have been watching strong woman and today is the last epi.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. priyamh21 says:

    She is also in Because its the first time(8epi drama starring choi min ho). I also like her and yes I’m watching SWDBS last epi today. I don’t usually get sad over my (once a fav drama)ending. I am only worried because I don’t have anything else to watch. There are very very few on air dramas that I continued till last epi. (from recent ones, lotbs,wf, swdbs)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

