Worst Vs. Best

Hopefully you have checked out my new chart for rating dramas here.

In this post I am going to give some examples of the best and the worst of each of my ten categories, with an explanation of some of them.

Sum Of Parts

Worst Best
1. Catchiness

null

Love Rain

null

Kill Me, Heal Me

null

2. Humor Will It Snow For Christmas

null

Kill Me, Heal Me

null

3. Eye Candy

null

Not Applicable, see reasons below

null

Scarlet Heart

null

4. OST

null

Boys Over Flowers

null

Healer

null

5. Dragging

null

Cheese in the Trap

null

Liar Game

null

6. Length Monstar

null

White Christmas

null

7. Tropes

null

You’re Beautiful

null

Coffee Prince

null

8. Kisses/ Skinship

null

Flower Boy Next Door

null

Coffee Prince

null

9. Believable Love Lines

null

Reply 1988

null

Pinocchio

null

10. Ending

null

Scarlet Heart

null

Kill Me, Heal Me

null

11. Bonus Points for Quotes n/a Coffee Prince

null

12. Negative Points for Amnesia

null

Boys Over Flowers

null

n/a

Before I go into the explanations, I want to point out that these are just my opinions folks. You may feel differently. Some of my favorite bloggers absolutely loved some of these dramas that I put in the worst category. I respect that opinion and can even see their point of view. But for me, those dramas were not necessarily my cup of tea in the category they are listed in. Also, notice that Scarlet Heart made it to both sides of the list. This is a primary example of why a drama can be loved by many but hated by others. It just kind of depends on how you end up scoring it. You will also notice that Kill Me, Heal Me and Coffee Prince are mentioned multiple times on the Best list…that is because they are amazing dramas that everyone should watch. 🙂 Also, some of the dramas in the worst list are dramas that I have not finished, so I am not exactly the best judge for these dramas.

Okay, so now for some explaining:

  1. Catchiness- I just can’t seem to get into Love Rain, but maybe that is just me. It is available on Netflix and it has several cute actors in it, but I just can’t seem to focus on it for more than three minutes. On the other hand, you have dramas like Kill Me, Heal Me where every episode left you wanting more.
  2. Humor- Okay so I just picked one of my dropped dramas for the worst and I only watched like the first four episodes. But of what I watched, there was nothing funny. Just sad and more sad. Kill Me, Heal Me was hysterical. I prefer romcoms over pretty much all other dramas, but this Kill Me, Heal Me actually made me LOL like embarrassingly loud.
  3. Eye Candy- Okay so there really isn’t a worst for this category. Because let’s face it, if there wasn’t spectacular eye candy, how many of us would have even given Korean dramas a chance? And okay, I will be honest. Before I became obsessed, I didn’t find Korean men to be super hot, but once I had started they became my type. So, even if you didn’t consider them to be eye candy before you started, if you are watching them now, you know what chocolate abs are and how to appreciate them.
  4. OST- Seriously, I cannot be the only one who gets irritated everytime I see a pin that says “ALMOOOOOST PARAAAAAAADIIIIIISE” because now it is stuck in my head all day. LOL. It is hilarious but evil. And now it is stuck in your head. But if you like this song, or you like EXO, check out this video. MWAhahahaha! I love a good OST. I actually like it when the song will get stuck in my head forever. So technically, I like Almost Paradise…except it is like waaaay overdone. My favorite soundtrack was Healer. It isn’t available on Apple Music sadly, so I went to Korea Town in LA and bought the CD, like the kdrama nerd/addict that I am.
  5. Dragging- I loved Cheese in the Trap. It was my number one favorite drama for like a whole two months. But the beginning draaaaaagged like nobody’s business. I was only watching it so that I could get through the time between updates on Cinderella and Four Knights and Scarlet Heart. Liar Game on the other hand was super fast paced. I liked every minute of it and would watch it again.
  6. Length- Full disclosure: I haven’t watched either of these dramas. But I read the recaps. And in the recaps I noticed this: the recapper for Monstar commented on the dragging length at times. And White Christmas is technically a special so it is super short anyways. But also suspenseful so that makes it seem short too.
  7. Tropes- So for the best and the worst I picked the biggest trope of them all: genderbending. Coffee Prince did it really well (as well as all their other tropes) and You’re Beautiful did all of their tropes in a ridiculously goofy manner. But that is the Hong Sisters for you. Technically speaking though, I still liked all of their silly tropes because they were silly.
  8. Kisses/ Skinship- Awwwww…the other reason we watch dramas. Or at least my other reason. I have already written an article about the best kisses, so you should know what I think are the best kisses. And in the article I mentioned our dear Park Shin Hye and her inability to make a kiss look enjoyable. So check out that post here.
  9. Believable Love Lines- I did a spoiler post about how I felt about the love lines in Reply 1988, here. Pinocchio on the other hand, had issues that every couple faces from being related to honesty. But I never doubted who liked who and how much.
  10. The Ending- Okay, so I recently read a post about Scarlet Heart that made me think that maybe the ending wasn’t as bad as the recaps made it out to be. But still. Based on the recaps, I didn’t like the ending. And even if you did like it, it probably made you sob for hours, which I also don’t like. Kill Me, Heal Me on the other hand, made me want to laugh and cry and watch the whole drama over again. I was satisfied with every character’s ending and I loved every minute of that drama.
  11. Bonus for Quotes: Okay, so let’s face it, we are watching tv in a language not our own. So if there is something very quotable in a KOREAN drama, when you don’t even speak Korean, that is pretty awesome. So bonus points.
  12. This spot could be used for anyone’s least favorite trope. For some it is the wrist grab, for me it is needless amnesia. Especially in the last few episodes. I am looking at you Boys Over Flowers. Hmph.

SO what do ya think? If you like melodramas more than comedies, I feel like this chart would still work with a few tweaks.

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. You and I are on the same wavelength. I pretty much agree with you on all of these! Although Goblin had my favorite OST, and the best humor I’ve seen in a Kdrama was Shopping King Louis!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Didn’t actually watch goblin but I heard the OST was fabulous. I tried listening to it but it’s not the same when you haven’t watched it. And shopping king was pretty hilarious. I forgot about that one. Lol

      Like

  2. I agreed. Negative points for amnesia in bof and scarlet heart ending was pathetic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Riiiiight? I mean was it all a dream? That is what I got. But maybe it was actually just that she will find him again in this lifetime nonsense? I mean if it was the latter, then they should have made that more clear.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, open ended kind of end. All the enjoyment for previous episodes was gone while watching the last episode.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Agreed. Open endings are the worst.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. kwenzqoatl says:

    I loved your post. It was unique. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. NNN says:

    I’ve got to agree about scarlet heart being best for eye candy. Especially the first episode where they’re all bathing. And ending super disappointing. I honestly thought they’d meet in her present life too. Humour though I enjoyed She was pretty. Every episode of that show cracked me up. And kiss I loved the Descendants of the sun one, where they’re drinking wine. Ost like @devonandcornwall said Goblin’s got to be it for me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That bath scene is evil! Lol cuz it makes you want to watch the whole drama. Lol. I agree with all your other picks too!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I’m listening to the she was pretty soundtrack and it is making me laugh all over thinking of the silliness.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. NNN says:

        I loved the show. I haven’t really payed much attention to its soundtracks, after watching goblin I’ve gone gaga over soundtracks of the show. Have you watched goblin yet?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No I read the recaps. I plan on watching it someday cuz it was awesome. But I am saving it til I find a friend to watch it with me. I like to watch the sad ones with friends. So I can watch them cry. Lol

        Like

      3. NNN says:

        Hahha oh yeah, major heartbreaking scenes are there. I introduced my friends to Goblin initially, and they were all hooked and are addicted to kdramas now. Hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That is awesome! I love hooking people! Lol

        Like

  5. priyamh21 says:

    I agree with you on every point. I also dropped Love Rain at ep 1 just few minutes in and no. And people keep asking me how I didn’t liked it. Sometimes, I feel like giving second try to all dramas that I dropped at ep 1 or 2 but not enough time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed. There is never enough time. But sometimes it is worth it. I didn’t like the first few mins of kill me heal me so I dropped it. Now it is my favorite drama.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

