Sick on the weekend…

I have been sick all weekend, which sucks…but on the plus side, I have so much drama watching time on my hands! So far, I have finished Reply 1997, written reviews on other dramas I finished, and started Another Oh Hae Young. I also started High End Crush, Personal Taste, and We Got Married. But Another Oh Hae Young is the most interesting right now. I wish I wasn’t watching Weightlifting fairy with someone else because it is killing me to not just marathon it right now.    I start a lot of new dramas when I am sick because I hate when they end.

Things you can understand and relate to as a kdrama fan, and a place … #random Random #amreading #books #wattpad:

Now for a quick review on Reply 1997.

The drama was very cute. I liked that it had short episodes, and the story was great. I loved watching the kids in the late 90’s because that was kind of my time too. I was a little bit younger than them, but I remember the mad scramble to tape your favorite show on your VHS player. And as crazy as Shi Won was about H.O.T, that is how I probably would have been about N*Sync had I been 16-18 instead of 10. So, if nothing else, I would have liked it for those reasons. Lord knows how much of a fangirl I have become…just for Korean Idols instead of American ones…and I am not a teenager, so that is kind of embarrassing sometimes.

The lowest score they got was for the significant lack of eye candy. I like some of the actors, but in this show, they did not look good. But you grow to love them as you get to know them. So, all in all, solid B.

And here is my chart:

Reply 1997  separate chart –> TROPES SCORE
Category My Score My Reasons accidental kiss 100
Catchiness 8 anmesia
Humor 8 Back Hug 100
Eye Candy 6 cheabol/candy/cinderella
OST 8 cohabitation 100
Dragging 9 contract relationship
Length 10 Short 30-45 min episodes! And only 16 of them. The perfect drama length crazy mom
Tropes 9 There was a great back hug and all the other tropes were cute too. I only had a small problem with the Noble Idiocy…but then, who doesn’t? drunk/drinking 100
*****Spoilers Below!!!!***** gender bending
Kiss/Skinship 10 Kiss in the very last episode made everything worth it in the end. 🙂 hit by a car
Believable Love Line 10 love triangle 100
Ending 10 Noble Idiocy 70
Sub total 88 piggy back ride
bonus points for quotability 0 rain scene
negative points for amnesia 0 terminal illness 100
Total 88 wrist grab
TOTAL AVERAGE: 95.71428571

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. kwenzqoatl says:

    Those memes though. lol Wish you a speedy recovery… or should I? Might mess up your Kdrama viewing. haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol, right? I am debating if I am actually sick enough to call in for work, or is that just my drama addiction talking?

      Like

  2. I had a cold, too! lol! Gave me a chance to start watching Shopping King Louis. Great review! I kind of want to watch this one now just so I can see that ending kiss I’ve heard about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shopping king was so cute!! When you finish it you will prolly want to watch 97 even more so that you can keep seeing the cute. Lol.

      Like

      1. It’s like you’re in my brain. That’s exactly what I was going to do! haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. awww get well soon dearie… kdrama pills work best at any given illness for us. *chuckles

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

