The Shadow of the Opera Ghost

This story goes back to my childhood.  When I was 9 years old, my parents took me to New York.  And it was fabulous except for one thing-they left me behind when they went to see the Phantom of the Opera, and just like that an obsession was born.  When I was twelve, I read the original book by Gaston Leroux and I loved it.  When I was thirteen, I saw the movie and left singing songs I had only heard for the first time.  So as you can see, I don’t just become interested in something, I obsess.  So I started reading fan fictions about the Phantom of the Opera.  For those of you who don’t know, a fan fiction is a story based on a movie or book that is written by a fan.  Reading those stories were nice, but I kept thinking…I could do this.  And so, when I was 15 years old, I started my very own fan fiction.

That one was called the Shadow of a Ghost.  Over the course of 2 years, I wrote 19 chapters and then I decided to go back, start from the beginning again and re-title it The Shadow of the Opera Ghost.  I only got 5 chapters in this time before I stopped.  And it has been five years since I have been able to even consider writing again.  Then one day two months ago, the ending came to me, and now I am finally ready to finish writing this story.

So here is a summary of my story.  Think Phantom of the Opera with a hint of Lion King 1 and a 1/2.  Basically I added a character who influences everything that happened in the original story of Phantom of the Opera or POTO as the fans call it.  The main character is Helene.  She is a very special girl who takes it upon herself to become the Opera Ghost herself, only to find that the role is already taken.  Erik (AKA the Phantom), decides he will allow her to stay, but as his Shadow, or apprentice.

Anyways, If you are interested in reading what I have put together already from all those years ago, here are the links.  The most recent version and the original story.  Or you can just be surprised as I gradually write and rewrite my story from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

